Labour also won the newly established Takanini seat, taking the number of seats Labour won that it did not already hold up to 16.

But Labour had a loss that makes a big difference – losing Waiariki means the Māori Party is back in Parliament after three years out in the cold.

This is how voting ended up in those electorates that have swung to a different party. In some cases, they weren’t big wins by Labour – the margins were close. Others were authoritative wins.

Elsewhere, seats that were clear National wins had their margins heavily reduced as Labour candidates closed in on their opponents.

It’s worth noting that these are provisional results with 100 percent of votes counted, but not the special votes – they’re counted after election day. There’s a chance these may change things for electorates where the results are particularly close.

There were 2,397,117 votes counted on election day and the total including special votes is expected to be 2,877,117, meaning there are about 480000 special votes.

Voter turnout is estimated to be 82.5 percent of those enrolled as at 6pm Friday 16 October.

The Electoral Commission aims to have the official results published on Friday 6 November.

Auckland Central

This was continually going to be a fascinating race. This electorate is home to 60,000 individuals, comprised of generally youthful and exceptionally instructed grown-ups of European and Asian plunge.

It had been securely Labor’s before Nikki Kaye placed in the hard yards and made it hers in 2008. Yet, she ventured during this time and was supplanted by Emma Mellow.

With Labor’s Helen White indicating ubiquity in the surveys and a solid mission by the Greens’ Chloe Swarbrick, it did not merit attempting to call this one.

It was a tight race throughout the night as the votes came in, the lead ricocheting about right off the bat, before Swarbrick sunk into a lead of around 450 decisions in favor of the remainder of the night.

With 100% of votes tallied, Swarbrick won by 492 votes – winding up on 9060 over White on 8568.

East Coast

This was active National MP Anne Tolley’s seat, one she’d held since 2005. Tania Tapsell remained in her place for National, facing Labor’s MP Kiri Allan, making it a race between two youthful Māori ladies.

In July, a Labor-charged survey put its applicant in front of National’s without precedent for a very long time, as per Local Democracy Reporting.

Allan wound up taking it with 18,367 votes.

Hamilton East

This National seat has gone to Labor – Jamie Strange took out David Bennett by 1948 votes.

Unusual’s last rely on the night was 15,254 contrasted with Bennett’s 13,306.

The seat’s been decidedly blue in ongoing races.

Hamilton West

It was a city-wide swing in Hamilton – west additionally went from National to Labor, where Gaurav Sharma vanquished Tim MacIndoe by 4425.

Sharma finished the night with 16,950, up on MacIndoe’s 12,525.

Hutt South

Chris Bishop put in the leg work to catch this seat in 2017. It was Trevor Mallard’s from 1993 until 2017, when he resigned.

Priest had lost to Mallard by just 709 votes in 2014 and buckled down for his success in 2017 and has been working since the time to keep up his profile in the electorate.

This time around it changed hands, back to Labor, with Ginny Andersen taking it back with 18,823 votes to Bishop’s 16,531 – an edge of 2292.


This seat has been National delegate pioneer Gerry Brownlee’s since 1996, yet was taken by Labor’s Sarah Pallet.

Bed pulled ahead right on time and held the lead the entire route through.

With 30% of the vote returned, Brownlee was at that point following, with around 37 percent of the electorate vote contrasted with around 48 percent for Pallett.

She wound up with a 2220 vote lead – winning with 16,381 votes to Brownlee’s 14,161.

Pallett is a maternity care teacher at Ara Institute of Technology, having recently functioned as a network birthing specialist. Her two girls, Alex and Bea, went to Ilam Primary School and are both now at college.


Scratch Smith had held this seat since 1996. Yet, the previous evening it went red, with Labor’s Rachel Boyack winning it with 18,625 votes to Smith’s 15,048.

At the point when some electorate limits changed not long ago, Nelson’s were among them.

That implied Brightwater – a fortification of Smith’s help – was no longer in the Nelson electorate.

Boyack is Nelson’s first lady MP.

New Plymouth

It might have been Jonathan Young’s in 2017, however this year it was all Glen Bennetts.

This electorate has been unequivocally for National over late decisions – Young won by 8000 votes in 2017 and 10,000 votes in 2014.

Yet, Bennetts finished the night with 18,072 and Young with 16,553 – an edge of 1519.


It was a nearby one here, however Labor’s Shanan Halbert has pushed out Dan Bidois by 1358. Halbert finished the night on 15,832 to Bidois’ 14,474. Work additionally brought home 49 percent of the gathering vote contrasted with National’s 28.3 percent.


Recently held by the resigning National MP Nathan Guy, Tim Costely assumed control over the battle in his place, facing Terisa Ngobi.

Yet, this one went to Labor – Ngobi got 17,926 votes over Costely’s 16,659.


This solid provincial blue seat was held by Andrew Falloon, who remained down after an embarrassment including profanity claims prior in 2020. Additionally a blue seat, Labor’s Jo Luxton took it over National’s Megan Hands by 3484 votes.


This is another electorate, set up not long ago when the Electoral Commission set the new limits, following the 2018 registration.

The Parliament site says it was: “made in front of the 2020 general political race because of populace development in the zone brought about by the outward extension of Auckland. Takanini was made by drawing populace from the flow seats of Manurewa and Papakura, just as the previous Hunua electorate”.

This was Neru Leavasa’s night, overcoming National’s Rima Nakhle by 4548 votes.


This seat, including Hastings, Havelock North, and Flaxmere, was removed National’s hands by Labor’s Anna Lorck.

Work up-and-comers had been shutting the hole in the course of the last three races, and this year, Lorck beat Lawrence Rule to turn the electorate red.

It was still close, she gathered 16,427 votes to Yule’s 15,655.

Upper Harbor

Once in the past Paula Bennett’s seat, when she declared she was resigning from legislative issues she was supplanted by Jake Bezzant.

He was unable to clutch it for National, and Labor’s Vanushi Walters took it with a 1415 vote lead.

She wound up on 14,142 over Bezzant’s 12,727.

That is a major change – Bennett has won the seat by around 10,000 votes at the last three decisions.


Work’s Kieran McAnulty had his sights set on National’s Mike Butterick here, the substitution for National’s resigning MP Alastair Scott.

Wairarapa is perhaps the biggest electorate in the North Island, circumscribing Wellington in the south and extending into the focal Hawke’s Bay in the north.

McAnulty lost to Scott in 2017 by 2872 votes – yet this time around, the seat was all his.

He brought home 19,519 when contrasted with Butterick’s 14,108.


Work’s Tamati Coffey grabbed this off the Māori Party in 2017 as a major aspect of Labor’s decisive victory of the Māori electorates.

The fight for the seat in 2020 was firmly battled among Coffey and the Māori Party’s Rawiri Waititi. At a certain point during vote tallying, the pair were tied.

At long last, Waititi guaranteed the Māori Party would be back in Parliament by catching 9473 votes, 415 more than Coffey.


This was held by National’s Harete Hipango, however swung vigorously to Labor, with Steph Lewis gathering 19,459 votes, a strong 6821 more than Hipango.

Before Hipango, Chester Burrows held Whanganui for National.

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here